top of page

An Afternoon at the Art Museum

Hey Y'all! Last weekend, my family and I took a little weekend getaway to Houston, Texas. We went for a change of scenery, that wasn't too far away. We stayed at the Houstonian, which was quite nice and the food was delish! Can't wait to stay there again! One of my favorite parts of that trip however, was when on our last day my mom and I visited the MFA (or, museum of fine arts). I really do enjoy looking at art, and visiting museums. I credit most of that liking to my mom, and I'm thankful that she's broadened my cultural horizons. And if you're reading this, thanks again mommy for encouraging me to appreciate art. :)) 

The MFA was so cool, but one thing I loved about it was that they let you take pictures of the art! So while I was there, I took photos of my favorite pieces so y'all can get to see a tiny bit of what it was like there! My favorite type of art is impressionist, but I love looking at all the portraits of royalty from long ago too. As for the other types, I do look at them and appreciate them. I just have an aversion towards certain genres, as do most people! This little trip to the MFA was a really wonderful intro, because I am going to be taking Art History at my school this year! I'm actually quite excited, and I'm looking forward to learning something new about how to look at art. 

Well, I hope everyone has a wonderful Tuesday and enjoyed this post! XX, Ella


bottom of page