top of page

2017: a year in the life

Hello y’all! Happy New Years Eve! I still cannot believe we are here- time has really flown by! A few days ago, I ran an Instagram Story poll, just asking a few general questions regarding your views on my blog and it’s Instagram (thank you again to everyone that answered the poll questions...y’all rock!). One of the questions that I asked was if you liked style or life blogpost more. Although more people said style rather than life, it was a pretty close poll! Which I definitely understand- sometimes I feel like my outfit posts get quite redundant, so one of my blog-goals for 2018 is to blog more about my life! Maybe some more posts like my Friendsgiving one, or maybe I’ll tryout doing “Week in the Life”That is also the reason why today, I’m sharing a more personal post. I think that after each year, it’s almost imperative that we recall everything we did I the past year. Sometimes I tend to lose sight of all the amazing events and opportunities that came my way, so me writing this post has really led me to be more grateful. I hope y’all like this post just as much as I LOVED writing it! Life recap (2017 at least): School Okay so I’m going to start with school, because this will probably be the most boring section of this post and that way I can get it over with (haha). This year, I completed my last semester of 8th grade and my first semester of high school. First of all, I was so DONE with middle school when I went back to 8th grade in 2017. Looking back, I had it so easy. Which for me, was very boring and eventful because I would have to say that I enjoy being challenged. There was times that I struggled however, especially with science. Oh y’all, I just do not understand science and why we have to take it and when I’m going to use that knowledge later on in life. Last school year, I had some problems learning the material, and would end up having to go home and try to make some sense of it. I finally figured it out, and ended up with a good grade in that class. A similar instance occurred in my freshman year with science. I was studying really hard for my freshman biology class (& teaching myself the material just like last year hahaha), but the results weren’t coming back as I had hoped for them too. So I figured out a different way of studying that gave me the results wanted. I think that gave way to me learning that I’m going to struggle, but I will come out of it alive if I keep working hard at it. High school has also been a challenge in itself, especially during the first months. But I feel like I’m at a really good place right now, and feel like I’ve adjusted very well. Tennis As some of you might know, I play tennis for my school and outside of school. It’s been fun to play it for my school, because my two best friends play it with me! Sometimes we all go play on the weekends too, and I love it so much! Until recently, I’ve kinda done tennis all on my own, and I like how it is now a lot better. But the WORST part about school tennis, is that two days a week we have to go to weight room. *cries. And I freaking hate it so much. First of all, I have zero upper body strength- which makes basically every workout we do so much harder. And then I’m never quite doing it right, because I have really long arms and legs so I end up looking like a limp noodle. Yeah it’s really fun. One time, I was wearing a really cute outfit to school, and forgot my tennis shoes for weight room. So I showed up in there in my workout clothes, and some leopard-printed flatforms. That got some looks and a laughs from everyone else, including my coach. But then my weight room coached told me that today we would be doing yoga, so I wouldn’t need my shoes! Talk about lucky! Friends During 2017 I feel like I really strengthened my friendships, and even added a few new ones along the way! I think that with starting high school, a lot of people go into it not-knowing whether their friends will stay with them. Luckily, I have found my way into a friend group full of the most loving girls ever so I didn’t have to worry about that. But even still I’m so thankful and grateful for the people God has put into my life, y’all are truly a blessing. One of my favorite friend moments of this year was having my best friend surprise me on my birthday and take me to breakfast. I remember how I started crying when I realized what she did, because I finally understood why God put her in my life. At first I didn’t realize what his plan was for us, but now I know and his work is so beautiful. Jesus & my friend, I LOVE y’all. -Family Ah The fam..gotta love them. This will be super quick, because I truly cannot put into words how much LOVE they have gave me this year. We went on a few fun vacations, where I think we all got closer and made even more memories (yes I know that sounds clichè). We also moved in 2017, in early November, which did prove to be a trial for us (and one that isn’t quite over). But I’m quite glad that I shared a bathroom with 4 other people in a house that is truly shaping up to be our forever home. I’m so lucky to have them. Walk with Christ Wow, again Jesus thank YOU for painting me another masterpiece of a year. Your work is so beautiful, a little messy, and altogether so fulfilling that I’m so in awe of Your wonder. God in 2017, you have led me towards people that lift me up, and have pushed me to create the impossible. I’m still learning to trust in Your plan, but I think I understand a little bit more of how to do that now. Blog I still am in awe of the amazing year Ebulliently Ella had in 2017. From switching blog sites, to learning how to create interesting content, and to reaching 800 followers on my Instagram, my little creative outlet has really made some accomplishments. First of all, readers, thank YOU for sticking around even when I was m.i.a., I’m so thankful! In 2017 I feel like I finally got the gist of blogging, and I hope 2018 brings even bigger things to me! Also, I had the pleasure this year with working with a few AMAZING photographers, y’all are the best! Thank you! Personally, I feel like I really learned about myself in 2017. I now know that I can do things I never thought I could, and that has given me a lot of confidence. I feel like the biggest lesson that I have learned, is that there is no such thing as perfection. I’m the biggest Type A person, so perfectionist is definitely something that I can be occasionally. But I’m learning that it’s okay to mess up, as long as I tried my hardest. I hope your 2018 is off to an amazing start! I LOVE y’all so much! Sent from my iPad 


bottom of page